The Top 7 First Impressions + Master List.

2 weeks ago | revfitz (Member)

Hello all! Now that I am done with my 31 day challenge I have wrapped it up by ranking the seven serials that left the biggest impressions on my mind. This list can be found here: http://revfitz.com/web-serials-made-best-impressions/

There were a lot of serials that did not make it to the list that deserved a mention and praise. I just wanted to take a moment to thank everyone who volunteered to be a part of this, especially because your work was disassembled in the most superficial way possible. Making art is a very personal experience, one that I know I do not need to relate too heavily here. As such, I appreciate the courage of an artist to offer up their work to be judged "at a glance". You guys rule!

Below is a list of the serials I wrote about and a link to their corresponding article in case anyone wanted to re-read them. It should also be helpful to those that volunteered and have not yet linked back to them ;) I greatly appreciate those that have kept their end of the deal.

Day One: Blue Steel http://revfitz.com/day-one-blue-steel/
Day Two: Fantasia http://revfitz.com/day-two-fantasia/
Day Three: Don’t Feed The Dark http://revfitz.com/day-three-dont-feed-dark/
Day Four: The Zone. http://revfitz.com/day-four-zone/
Day Five: The Strange. http://revfitz.com/day-five-strange/
Day Six: Orphic Phantasia. http://revfitz.com/day-six-orphic-phantasia/
Day Seven: Entirely Presenting You. http://revfitz.com/day-seven-entirely-presenting/
Day Eight: The Legion of Nothing. http://revfitz.com/day-eight-legion-nothing/
Day Nine: Dirge. http://revfitz.com/day-nine-dirge/
Day Ten: BreakDown http://revfitz.com/day-ten-breakdown/
Day Eleven: Crowmakers http://revfitz.com/day-eleven-crowmakers/
Day Twelve: EidolonBound http://revfitz.com/day-twelve-eidolonbound/
Day Thirteen: The Open Road. http://revfitz.com/day-thirteen-open-road/
Day Fourteen: Taylor’s Polynomials. http://revfitz.com/day-fourteen-taylors-polynomials/
Day Fifteen: Death’s Door. http://revfitz.com/day-fifteen-deaths-door/
Day Sixteen: The Vorrgistadt Saga http://revfitz.com/day-sixteen-vorrgistadt-saga/
Day Seventeen: Sanctioned. http://revfitz.com/day-seventeen-sanctioned/
Day Eighteen: Paladins of the Archipelagos. http://revfitz.com/day-eighteen-paladins-archipelagos/
Day Nineteen: Eterna’s Source. http://revfitz.com/day-nineteen-eternas-source/
Day Twenty: The Other Kind of Roommate. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-kind-roommate/
Day Twenty One: Time & Tied. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-one-time-tied/
Day Twenty Two: Noli Me a Tank in a Mall. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-two-noli-tank-mall/
Day Twenty Three: Denham’s Dentifrice. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-three-denhams-dentifrice/
Day Twenty Four: Lion-Daughter Nichole. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-four-lion-daughter-nichole/
Day Twenty Five: I Killed English. http://revfitz.com/17893-2/
Day Twenty Six: Chosen Shackles. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-six-chosen-shackles/
Day Twenty Seven: Sorcery in Boston. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-seven-sorcery-boston/
Day Twenty Eight: Mystic Nan. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-eight-mystic-nan/
Day Twenty Nine: Godpunk. http://revfitz.com/day-twenty-nine-godpunk/
Day Thirty: Nature’s Kingdom. http://revfitz.com/day-thirty-natures-kingdom/
Day Thirty One: Train Wreck: The Wrath of Mom. http://revfitz.com/day-thirty-one-train-wreck-wrath-mom/

And with that I will stop holding this forum hostage with my mad challenge.

Existential Terror and Breakfast--A serial with cereal.
Updates Wednesdays at: revfitz.com

Read responses...

Page: 12

Responses

  1. Walter (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Way to go! This was definitely a cool thing.

  2. Tartra (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Gad. Damn. Revfitz, good work and congratulations! This was fantastic.

    Thank you for the nudge, too! I made up a whole review page on my site plugging that review and your serial:: httpheotherkindofroommate.com/reviews/

    Thank you again for this! You might be wiped but it really rocked to watch everything unfold.

    The Other Kind of Roommate — Like Fight Club meets X-Men meets The Matrix meets Superbad.
  3. nippoten (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Congrats on making through the whole month! If anything, it's good for the web serial community as a whole.

  4. Shaeor (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Huge applause. Easily the best event we've had going, thanks to you. So, thanks for taking the board hostage. I enjoyed reading about each review, and I'm sure I'll enjoy reading Existential Terror and Breakfast just as much. Keep up the good work!

    CHOSEN SHACKLES The screen is running static. Face your shadow.
    DIRGE The light is dying. Hold your breath and go gently.
  5. Dary (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    I'm curious to know if there's anything you've learned about webserials as a whole - maybe regarding certain design or writing trends - that people could use to improve their work.

  6. revfitz (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    @Walter
    Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed it :D

    @Tartra
    Thank you for linking back, and thank you for the plug to my serial! You did not have to do that, but I greatly appreciate it :D I really enjoyed your first chapter, I plan on reading more soon!

    @nippoten
    It was tough, but well worth it. Thank you for volunteering! Your site was very close to making it on my top seven, and honestly not including it was a tough decision.

    @Shaeor
    That's some high praise, thank you! It helped me discover a lot of things to read, including your serial. I look forward to the next chapter! Also: thank you for giving Existential Terror and Breakfast a look :)

    @Dary
    There is actually a LOT I have to say on that topic, and I am considering writing an article on it, though my time is now limited so it may be longer than anyone wants before I get to it. With that said, I am more than happy to answer any questions! Here are a couple thoughts off the top of my head on design:

    One: Less than half of the sites I visited had a "contact" page. This violently baffled and frustrated me as I often wanted to talk to the writers and had questions for them. I have had a site up for about eight years, so I understand that the spam it can lure is annoying, but I think having a direct line for your readers to reach out to you GREATLY outweighs that.

    Two: If you are not good at graphic design, don't try to be. Though some of the more graphic heavy sites rated higher on my list than others, Godpunk made it to second place because the writing carried it there. There were a lot of sites that would have come off as being more professional to me if they ditched the amateur looking graphics. No picture is better than a half decent one.

    Existential Terror and Breakfast--A serial with cereal.
    Updates Wednesdays at: revfitz.com
  7. ScreamingCandle (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    @revfitz I guess I'm the embodiment of #2 there. I purposefully went with as clean as possible a look while still putting the logo on there. Glad it worked for you. For someone with terrible eyesight, I am not drawn to complex looking sites and wanted to put the emphasis on the stories.

    And I really can't believe I got in your top seven. I'm humbled and thank you for reminding me to just keep doing the work.

    Stay Weird

    -SC

    "It is not important what you do, but it is critically important that you do it." - Terrence McKenna
    The Strange Updating Wednesdays
  8. nippoten (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    @revfitz Glad to know I was in the running, at least. I'll consider myself taking the unofficial 8th spot, if that's okay :)

  9. mathtans (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    I am probably the "case in point" guy for "don't put any graphics on your site, ever". And yet I do, all hand-drawn; they were there when I started, as as the quote goes, "My one purpose in life is to serve as a warning to others", so they'll likely be there when the site folds. God only knows why I started a webcomic too.

    @revfitz: Amazing run there, you even picked one of the longer months. I'm hoping it's helped with traffic to your site (and serial) overall. Take a well deserved break. :)

    Writing a Time Travel serial: http://mathtans.wordpress.com
    Writer of the personification of math serial: http://www.mathtans.ca
  10. unice5656 (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    This was fun and interesting. I hope you got more than the two comments I saw from my readership.

    Making art is a very personal experience, one that I know I do not need to relate too heavily here. As such, I appreciate the courage of an artist to offer up their work to be judged "at a glance".

    Ehehe, the existential terror of stripping your soul naked for the world to see fades pretty quickly after publishing and realizing that readers don't read as much into you as you think they will from your work.

  11. Maromar (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    It was a lot of fun, going through your flash reviews. You go in knowing that one's perception of quality may be alien to their neighbors' across the electric sea, but you never get a true appreciation for that fact until you look at projects like this.

    A lot of it, it seems, has to deal with what aspects speak to individuals the most. A few favorite tropes, a rich world, or an interesting graphic can make, break, or totally slip the mind.

    Humans are weird.

    The first step to becoming a hero is being mulched by a truck: https://mysticnanblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/spark-i/
  12. revfitz (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    @ScreamingCandle
    The simplicity of your site is a strong design choice! Thank you for volunteering, I really enjoyed what I saw :)

    @nippoten
    Absolutely! In retrospect I should have done a top ten.

    @mathtans
    I ask myself why I started a webcomic every day. Then I remember that it is a drunken compulsion and therefore a symptom of a larger problem. I do not regret doing it though.

    Thanks man! I have about twice the audience I had for my serial, and the backlog for the challenge is being well read at the moment. I know that these things have likely reached a plateau and will fade soon. I have honestly tried very hard to just chill out, but I think the constant work has awoken a sort of madness in me, and I am itching to be productive again.

    @unice5656
    The article I wrote for Fantasia got the most views (169 as of right now) and most of those came form your site. You have a very strong fan base!

    @Maromar
    I am glad you enjoyed them! It was hard trying to be objective about something that is so subjective and based totally on bias. There were serials of equal quality in most every fashion, but a genre bias would make me rate one in my head better. I can only hope that my biases were at least understood or forgiven.

    Existential Terror and Breakfast--A serial with cereal.
    Updates Wednesdays at: revfitz.com
  13. nippoten (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    @Revfitz Nothing wrong with slipping those last three spots in :P

    Nah, just kidding, you deserve a well-earned break!

  14. unice5656 (Member)

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Ahaha, yes I do. It's kind of a cult that worships images of baby ducks.

Reply »

You must log in to post.