Another Introduction

Hey all,

I'm new here and wanted to pop in and introduce myself. My name's Evan. I've been writing on and off since about 2009, starting originally with the fanfiction scene and then slowly moving over into original projects. I found this site, as I'm sure many other new members have, through Wilbow's Worm. For me, my biggest issue with putting words on the page has always been that I tend to edit a lot while I'm writing, which really affects my productivity. In an attempt to break the habit, I've decided to take my first stab at writing a serialized web novel. It's still in it's infancy, with only two chapters posted, but so far the push to meet deadlines has helped keep me honest.

Overall, I'm looking forward to reading more works on the site and getting to know some of the authors. Cheers.

-Evan

What you describe is exactly the reason I started a serial - maybe (probably) you got the idea from a comment I made. Funny thing is that since I stopped editing so much, I think my writing has gotten cleaner. It's smoother, it has less mistakes, and it's easier to read.

I'm glad you've found WFG through Worm. I've been trying to recommend WFG to people on Reddit and the like, as well as promote knowledge of serials. Mentioning it on Reddit and stuff. The more people we get here, the better off we all are.

Welcome, welcome. The more the merrier.

Yeah, I think productivity is the biggest motivating factor for starting a serial. I'm no stranger to the disappointment that comes with lack of progress. Doesn't matter how much I love my ideas if it takes me four years to write 30k words. But in delightful contrast, I started my serial seven months ago, and it recently broke 100k words.

I had the same problem before I started serialising - the longest works I had done previously were around 20/30k (and a few of those were fanfics), and I would just never *finish* anything.