Confused about what route to take

Hello there, I posted this at Kindleboards but realise that maybe that's the wrong place to do it because people who write webserials don't exactly hang out there. ;)

So I'm new here, and I'm thinking of writing a web serial. Mostly because I've always loved the immediacy, rawness and interactivity of posting your stories online. (I did mostly fanfic for years.) But I'm really confused about the choices I have! The thing is, it's my ultimate goal to somehow monetise my writing.

I'm not sure if that's somehing a web serialer should aim for ... but I'm really new with this universe.

So, I'm wondering if any of you have any experience in this area? I'd really love your feedback. Should I:

1. Put out my story on sites like Jukepop Serials to gain a readership? But I don't very like the idea of making my story exclusive to a site other than my own. Also, those who've tried Jukepop Serials - is it easy to compile your work into an ebook later?

2. Release my serial on my website and link it to aggregators like Tuesday Serial and when the story is done release it as an ebook? Should I take down the serial fiction on my website after I release it as an ebook?

3. Or just go the pure e-book route and release episodes? For some reason I'm not very keen about the idea because I'm afraid of pissing off readers who hate buying incomplete stories. I do know there have been people who've had success with it, however... such as the writers of Yesterday's Gone.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

There's some serial writers on the Kboards - I'm a lurker, and Meilin's there.

1 - You can always go on JP later, I'm doing Mirrorfall there as a "reprint" when I have it hosted on my site.

1a - Do you feel comfortable with the idea of creating and maintaining your own site?

1b - I'm not sure how this applies, you would still make your ebook from your own source document.