Finding the Right Audience

I'm having trouble finding that perfect "niche" for my web serial novel. My co-writer and I have been running the serial on our site for about 2 years now. We have about a hundred fans on Facebook (mostly friends/family who don't actually read it), and maybe a core consistent readership of 5 people. We update fairly consistently, give out cards at conventions, and will be having our first con table at MoCCA Festival in 2013. My question is, with all this effort, why isn't our readership growing? And if it's because we're terrible, why has no one turned us on to that fact?

As a side note, I have a lot of the same issues with gaining followers on my art sites as well (7+ years online, very few followers). What exactly am I doing wrong? This is the web serial: http://threeofswords.melzayasart.com

Don't bother going easy with critique...I was an art student, I can take it :) Thanks in advance!

It's late so I don't have time for a thoughtful answer yet. (And I won't be able to get back to this until tomorrow evening.)

However, here's a question

You've been at this for 2 years. Have you packaged any of it as an ebook to have for sale on Amazon, Smashwords and other?

I ask because I think that cross promotion is one of the biggest tools you can have. Both web serials and self-publishing can have a very slow build, but they can help one another. Different readers like to read in different ways. Some people only like to browse things on line, but like to read long, immersive things in book form.

Which brings me to my second thought, that I don't have time to go into now: that it's easier to build a blog audience with short and punchy work -- that doesn't mean your serial has to be short and punchy. It's also possible that you could build an audience in ways outside the story itself. More tomorrow....

Camille