I think I'm accidentally writing a web serial...Am I welcome here?

Hello everyone!

I have a rather unique problem, and I apologize in advance for the wall of text. Impatient creatures are welcome to only read the last paragraph.

I've battled with extreme shyness for most of my life, and my friends have been telling for years now that I'm a much better writer than I give myself credit for (accusations of impostor's syndrome have been thrown around). In late October, a catalyst convinced me to push myself "out of my shell", to write a few short stories and then actually let other people read them. Since I didn't think anyone would read something I'd written without extra incentive, I decided on writing erotica, and started with a sci-fi space romp in the vein of a naughty Ender's Game or Battlestar Galactica.

I absolutely loved it. Without even intending to, I built a whole world for what was supposed to be a little one-off erotic short. I got WAY more feedback than I anticipated, comments in the double digits (yes "11" counts as double digits, shut up), all of them positive, and even more surprising, a lot of them wanted to know more about the world and the backstory.

I wrote more, first adding on a sequel story, then making it a trilogy. It only made things worse, because now there was an actual plot growing, characters becoming less two-dimensional, more and more hooks for interesting things to happen. I couldn't stop writing in this world. Before I knew it I was cutting out sex scenes because I wanted to include more story and dialog...and everyone who read the series liked it even more. I started committing to an update schedule, I made a dedicated website, I began building up a backlog; before I used to read the webfictionguide forum as an amusement, now I found myself using it as a resource for advice and tips. That's when it hit me;

I'm accidentally writing a web serial. And I love the hell out of it.