Just started, advice please.

Hello all, I'm Tempest.

I've not long started a serial,(MageLife) at the nudging of Tieshaunn. It was supposed to be a short story that kinda grew and basically I have no idea what I'm doing. I have zero writing experience. So this is my plea for any and all advice. Even irreverent advice, yeah I'm looking at you Psycho Gecko

1. Write a lot. All the spare time you can manage.

2. Stick to a schedule for online posts, being reliable builds audience.

3. Long immersive posts once or twice a week are better than short posts, it engages deeper.

4. Read "Worm" for proof of all of the above.

5. Read a lot. All the spare time you can manage. Study what works and what doesn't.

Thanks, I currently don't have a confirmed schedule for various reasons but I manage about once a week.

I prefer longer posts too. Although there is a bit where I experimented with short ones.

Worm, I read in a weekend long binge with no sleep. Until I had caught up a couple of months before the end. I was hooked.

Writing is my current constant, if I'm not writing I'm reading. Much to the annoyance of my wife.

Brilliant advice, it is appreciated.

In terms of the actual writing, always consider what you're offering the reader. Are you shedding more light on the character? Moving things forward? What does the reader want most, right now? How can you provide that element they desire to them, or can you deny them that element to build tension or anticipation?

Frequency and consistency matter a great deal. I suspect you're busy with a wife, kids and work, but if you want an audience, you need to tell people when you're going to give them content, or they're just checking in whenever and getting frustrated when stuff isn't there/forgetting you exist after a while.

"Squee, Wildbow spoke to me."

Sorry had a brief fan moment there. I'm in control again.