Kindle Help

I've been planning on making a comeback with my web serial, and in the meantime I've done a tie-in novel that I'm going to e-publish on Amazon kindle. I've never done anything like this before and only have a vague idea about it, though. I've looked online for help, but the information I find is often contradictory. As some of the people here have done this before, I was hoping someone could give me some pointers?

Specifically, how should I format my novel? Margins, fonts, etc? I've heard that I should save it as a html before I upload it to KDP, is that correct? Also, what size should I make the cover art/image? I can't find a definite answer anywhere, but I've heard that Amazon's suggestion is outright wrong and doesn't show up very well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Margins: normal with the default page size setting, as it is converted electronically using only text/images.

Font: 12-point, times new roman

Indentations: If you are using Word (which I assume you are), use the arrows on the ruler that do automatic indentations. I don't remember what they're called, but that's the only way to indent, excluding centering the text.

Cover size: If you are doing it on your computer or hiring someone, 6x9. If you are artistic and want to do it yourself by hand, make the paper 12x18, and in Photoshop/gimp, after you've scanned it in, scale it to half it's size.

HTML Thing: I honestly don't know, I've used PDF and Word docs before, and they both came out well, except the PDF didn't have indentations, but I hadn't done those on that one anyway.

Other tips: Make sure not to have four spaces in a row or four blank lines in a row, as this makes for unwanted blank spaces/pages on the larger text settings. Also, make sure that you indent only one eighth of an inch, for the same reason as the four space thing.