New Blog Novel - Waddya think??

Hi, new to this forum, I am a freelance writer. I started a blog novel a few days ago (I have never written a novel) and I would like to have some feedback on it. It is called 2219 and it is at http://2219novel.blogspot.com

I work full-time so I will eventually get around to adding some more graphics and color with Photoshop. Right now, I just wanted to concentrate on the writing.

I like this forum, and WFG is a good site too. Let me know what you think, I mean the writing only, I will improve the site when I have more time.

Thanks, nice to meet you all.

James

Whoops, double post. Sorry

The first thing that jumped out at me (and I'll admit I'm far from the average reader when it comes to prison stuff) is that Pelican bay is nothing like what you're putting forth here. Buses don't stop a the front gate (actually they don't at any prison I've ever seen...they go inside and unload) Buses don't have airbrakes, either.

There aren't bars on cells there, no cellmates, no crowd scenes at yardout. It's the super-max, total lockdown, one man to a cell.

If you're going to call it by name, you should research it. But I think it would be easier to choose another prison.

I don't mean that to be nit-picky. But if you are going to write about a situation you don't know, then you should make extra effort to get the picture. Unlike all those jillion CIA/Mafia stories out there by kids who have no idea what the reality is like.

Also, since the most famous book by a Pelican Bay inmate is titled "Monster", I think you're asking for it making such heavy use of the term in your story.

And I think that people a lot less familiar with this milieu than I am would have trouble with the idea that a guy who's been sentenced to the Bay would THEN be turned into a monster.