On Being A Poor Community Member

I am probably the worst community member in the world. I remember mentioning that to Alexander (Dream Fantastic) via email once.

One of the things I've wanted to do is start reading and following other stories and to review them on my site so that my readers could find some of the other interesting stuff out there. Problem is, my day job is... ahem... demanding. I've been working 16 hours days in long stretches, and it's all I can do to update my own webcomic and make sure Pay Me, Bug!'s publication schedule doesn't waver (and in fact I've had to neglect my webcomic(s) quite a bit -- and the only reason PMB stays on schedule is because it's pre-written, it's just the podcast that is erratic).

So how do you guys do it? I've managed to read a little of Guts & Sass, Stuck Station, and of course Diggory Franklin, but I haven't been able to read any of them regularly. Carving out time to do anything these days is difficult and when I do have free time there are usually other neglected projects that are demanding precedence over anything new.

Do you all have reading schedules? The easiest answer is probably "get a job that doesn't demand so much of your time" but that's not a practical answer right now.

There's all this stuff out there I want to read and I can't. It makes me nuts!

Anyway. Thoughts? Suggestions?

I have three kids and my own writing to work around, so I strategize. Legion of Nothing comes out 2 or 3 times a week, so it's read on schedule. Intimate History has a lot of chapters, so I read an entire big chunk every few months when I have an hour or two to dedicate to it because the intricacy of the narrative requires that I read a lot at once so I get a sense of characters and plot, instead of drifting chapter to chapter on a weekly/daily basis because it's History, not so much like intense cliffhanger action like Legion.