Orphans of the Celestial Sea

Heya all, I'm a total newb here, so pardon if these are questions that should go elsewhere (or are answered elsewhere and I just don't know how to find them).

I'm starting a new serial on my blog (www.brassbolts.blogspot.com) in about a week and I'd love to get some advice.

Namely:

How long should each post be? I had broken my story down into around 2,000 words per fragment, but I see most are shorter than that, will such large portions turn an audience off?

What day of the week works best? I plan to update weekly, but I'd like to hit the day that works best for most readers, I'm assuming it'll be Monday or Friday.

The working title of the series is Orphans of the Celestial Sea, and it will follow the adventures of Tom Cain and his misfit zeppelin crew as they try to unravel the mysteries surrounding their airship Hecate and the plague of psychosis-inducing Mist which is slowly destroying human civilization. Think Steampunk Firefly and you're in the right ballpark.

Advice, comments, criticism, and of course blog visits are all welcomed.

The length of the post should depend on you, your ability, the pace of the story and the schedule. Just speaking for myself, I tend to be most comfortable writing around 4000 words per segment, sometimes double or 2.5 times that, and I update twice a week. What I'd recommend is writing for a week or two to build up a backlog (assuming you haven't finished already). Try to write something every day. Track how much you write and where your limits are. If you find you write ~2000 words over the week, that could be the word count you aim for. Adjust accordingly.

Since your story updates only once a week, you might want to avoid comparing yourself to stories that update several times a week. You'll probably want to adjust your focus to ensure you have some detail or hook to draw people back in, and you may want more substance/volume in work to reward them for the wait.