Revenge ratings

So, this is embarrassing... I don't want to stir up drama, but as someone starting out and struggling to get exposure, this is something I don't think I can afford to ignore. Very sorry to the WFG community if bringing this up is a breach of custom.

My serial just got its second rating on the site, a one-star. I was understandably baffled by this as the responses I've had so far (relatively few, as I said, I'm new to the biz) have been uniformly positive. So I clicked around a bit, found who gave me the bad rating.

During the couple of weeks after submitting my serial and before it made it to the actual listings, I've been making an effort (as I have time) to participate in the community, bearing in mind Wildbow's comment from an older thread that if everybody just took and nobody gave, we'd have nothing at all here. So I've been reading and reviewing things fairly prolifically. I am honest with my opinions, and as a point of policy I never leave a rating without leaving a review. As an author I know how aggravating that can be; I want to let people know why I liked or disliked something. For the most part, the fiction I've found around here is good, some a lot better than I was expecting, but there's a variation in quality, obviously.

The lowest rating I've given out was two stars, with an accompanying review explaining what I thought of the story and why. Turns out, the author of that story just gave my serial one star without comment. Now, maybe they honestly thought my little fantasy Western sucks and didn't have time to write anything out, but to be quite honest, I suspect a motivation other than community participation here. And again, if it was just someone talking to me about what they think, I'd shrug it off, but as someone who's still in the early stage of trying to get readers, this kind of thing actually does me some harm.