Structure?

I'm new to the serial format. I was writing YA fiction novels before switching genres (and formats) and have come to realize that writing serials is different than writing novels. There's the typical 3-Act Structure that some authors follow: Inciting incident is first 25% of the book, midpoint is 50% of book, etc. But is there really any structure like that within serial fiction? Do any of you follow a particular structure or do you just pants it? Thanks.

Hello Evolet.

I can only tell you what works for me as far as structure. I have 148 episodes written in five parts or 'arcs' so far. I set up my serial so that each arc works as its own stand alone story (with the standard beginning, middle, end), but it also serves the overall story with each arc revealing some new layer or facet to the bigger tale while introducing sub-stories all along the way. I often introduce characters in one arc, tell a part of their story, then they may go away for a while to return in a later arc.

Now, I have multiple MC's throughout that share the stage at any given time so that no character stories are neglected as each of their stories serve the bigger picture. What this does for me in regards to writing a serial novel is that I never find myself for lack of story, nor do I take one character and spread him or her out too thin over too many story arcs. I find myself being able to jump in and out of different places at different times with different characters in various arcs that all end up being connected in the coolest ways.