Thoughts on Author's Commentary

As the title suggests, I'm interested in what you guys think about author's commentaries.

Do you think it enhances reader interaction and opens up a story more?

Or do you think, like when a magician reveals how his trick works, it lessens the reading experience?

If you do like it, where does it belong? In italics at the start of a chapter, as its own post, as a comment?

I'd really like to see your arguments for and against.

I personally do a post mortem every time I come to the end of what I call a book. This is less for the reader's benefit and more for my own. As an author, I believe it helps my writing to critique myself in public. That being said, one of these post mortems did generate a healthy amount of discussion, more so than the average story post usually does.

I put in author notes in comments, but never ones revealing pertinent information unless I believe that info might need be addressed for the readers (for example- people in my setting believe Hitler had mind control powers. He didn't. But unreliable narration extends to historians as well).

Generally, my notes are things along the lines of saying which chapters/side characters/etc that I feel most strongly about. I'll occasionally say things that are dead obvious and claim they're spoilers, for comedic value.

And I'll always use it to thank people who recommend my story to others (Wordpress lets you know where your hits are coming from... so it's pretty simple to simply click and go "huh, cool" and say thanks later).

I consider it a great way to connect with and form a personal relationship with the audience. But only very rarely will I give away information about the setting in it.

I personally abhor author notes in the immediate vincinity of the story (don't even get me started on in-line notes).

That said I'm perfectly aware the well-read titles on Wattpad and RRL (wellread defined as a million plus views) more or less always come with those notes.