To all you writer/artists out there...

... also to all you artist/writers out there...

First of all, I hate you all oh so very much.

;-)

Seriously, though, what I actually mean is that I'm extremely jealous of you. Very much.

I'm decidedly not an artist. I do a webcomic, sure, and the main character in my current serial is a painter, but I don't have the energy or the will to do any of that stuff. I also have this thing called essential tremor (my hands shake) which makes it even harder to try to learn All That Drawing Stuff, so, you know, that's that. I'm primarily a writer and always have been, and for the most part I'm tremendously happy to be one...

... but man. I just got pencils in for a new cover for Pay Me, Bug!. It's from the same guy I hired to do the cover for Curveball... and it's just amazing how much that adds to the story. And I'm not really talking about for the reader, I'm talking about for me.

I mean, I'm pretty sure that there are people who have checked out Curveball because the splash graphic I use is awesome, when they wouldn't have otherwise. I'm utterly convinced of that. But what's amazing to me is that when Garth (the artist) sent me the pencils for that cover, he'd actually drawn CB so close to the way I'd imagined him that now when I think of how CB looks I think of his cover. He actually defined the protagonist for me, physically. When I need inspiration when I'm writing new issues, I open the graphic and move it off to the side.

So lately I've been trying to publish a trade paperback of Pay Me, Bug! on CreateSpace, and the original cover I used for the ebook, having been designed for the ebook, is too small. So I hired Garth to create a cover for it, told him basically what I'd like to see, gave him descriptions of the characters, and when he sent me the pencils for the concept art the other day I'll be damned if he didn't do the same thing for Grif, Amys, Cyrus and Ktk that he did for CB--and he hasn't even read it!