Trying to chase the bad from my head

My day job is occasionally at odds with my fiction writing. My secret identity is as a freelance technical writer, and while in some cases that's actually pretty helpful (being able to write a complex installation procedure for a networked environment has unexpected advantages when writing science fiction) it can also be occasionally incompatible (being able to write a complex installation procedure for a networked environment IS NOT ENTERTAINING).

Last month I was pulled in to an emergency contract that was incompatible with writing fiction. It required a very specific mindset that was not easy to get out of--so I'd work a 12 or 13 hour day focused on this task (which is exhausting in its own right) and then I'd want to write but I wouldn't be able to just switch over... and by the time my brain was starting to switch over I'd want to sleep... and then I'd need to get back into that mindset again. April was a terrible, terrible, depressing month.

But it's over! And I survived! And now I have time again and I'm sitting down to write and OH YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME "this is your Captain speaking, we're currently entering a little turbulence and we recommend you sit motionless in one place staring at your monitor for hours at a time not making any progress whatsoever."

Yeah, getting back into the swing of things is going to require a little more swinging.

Anyway, just ranting. Hi! How's stuff?

Well, I'm not a writer, but I bet I can guess this one. After all that work, you need to relax your brain and get it into the fiction mode by letting yourself READ some fiction. As you read some good stuff, it will inspire you and give you ideas for your own stories.