Whither Tumblr

So in the webcomics world a lot of cartoonists use tumblr to post and share lots of artwork. For that reason when I think of Tumblr I think of it in terms of people posting and resharing artwork... not as a text medium at all. Which means I don't particularly think of Tumblr as something that would be particularly useful for webfiction... however, it seems there are a few webfiction authors who are using Tumblr for stuff.

The question is, are they using it for posting and resharing artwork? :-)

"Everyone"(1) keeps talking about how social media is supposed to be a great way to increase readership, and the webcomic people I know who use Tumblr apparently do wind up getting new readers out of it, but using Tumblr to promote my webcomic is out because I'm not an artist and why would someone reshare clipart? There might be a reason for me to use it if there were also a strong text-sharing community, but Tumblr seems to thrive on brevity, so I don't see much room for people who write over there.

Has anyone used it specifically for webfiction? If so, how? And how is it working out?

I'm using Tumblr to post webfiction related artwork and sketches. It is limited in its effectiveness only because I don't have a lot of followers. That said, I do try to think about the tags attached to the images such that people who save tag searches might discover it later. (Specifically I use the "fairy tale" family of tags because there's a decent sized fanbase for that.) It does translate into clickthroughs, but not always. (Having just come back from a fan convention, I'm picking up a lot of random viewers from a post with a complex hierarchy of tags.)