Will I ruin my career?

I've written a novel, but it's short. Not too short-about 65 000 words- but short in a way that most publishers are reluctant to look at with new authors. I'v considered putting it somewhere online, posting it in serial format and gaining word of mouth support. I've heard of it working before, but on the other hand I may be putting a book out there and never seeing a cent.

Any thoughts?

If you want it bought then don't put it on the web. Pursue agents and publishers.

Then again if you're more interested in feedback and don't care about money the web is a good route.

65000 is short for general fiction. Usual novel length is 80000. Rejecter has had some posts recently about this which might help you.

http://rejecter.blogspot.com/2010/06/revising-your-word-count.html

Sorry for the bad link. Fixed now.

If an artist said "I can't display my work online, it won't make me any money, and people will think I'm not a true professional," or a band said "we're not putting our music on MySpace because it won't make us any money, and no one signs a band that starts on MySpace," you would rightfully laugh in their faces and tell them in your best Arnie voice to STOP WHINING! and do it already.

Why should writing be any different?

Because it is different, and the industry at large doesn't treat writers the same way as artists or musicians. An illustration portfolio shown online, or an album posted to MySpace, doesn't immediately become unsellable the way a story does. These prejudices are not of our making but anyone professionally-minded can't afford to ignore them.

The simple fact is, until you arrive at the point where you're regularly selling short and/or long manuscripts to places for cold hard cash, you don't have a career -- you have a hobby. Putting a piece of fiction online pretty much kills your chances of making any money from it, barring exceptional circumstances. If that is your goal then keep pursuing traditional publishing options.